Just Say NO to Canned Biscuits!

I detest canned biscuits. They are puffy, spongy wannabe originals. Southerners know. We are the connoisseurs of two things: sweet tea and biscuits. And I love both.

Growing up, my mother spoiled me. She was such a great cook, and made everything from scratch. What is even more amazing: she was also a full time teacher. I hardly ever remember a time when she took shortcuts. I know that she did on occasion, but for the most part we had homemade muffins in the morning, and homemade biscuits at dinner. As a result, my taste always leans toward homemade. As a part-time worker making homemade biscuits was no big deal. I whipped them up with the best of moms. But, lately I am horrified to admit that canned biscuits have become an almost daily staple in my house! So, how do I stop these impostors from returning to my dinner table?

Well, first I must recognize that although it’s tough to manage teaching and homemaking together, it’s not impossible. I just have to find  quick and easy recipes that will keep my desire for homemade biscuits alive. Today. I believe I found it. My challenge is for all working moms not to compromise on their standards, but find strategies to make the work easier. That is what I hope to do! It’s those little things that make life better!

Check out Christy Jordan’s cookbook, Southern Plate: Classic Comfort Food That Makes Everyone Feel Like Family
This recipe, “Daddy’s Sunrise Biscuits” is quick and delicious!

                                                                   Yum!

One thought on “Just Say NO to Canned Biscuits!

  1. They look delicious! Good job! I'm glad you remember my own efforts the way you do, although, you are correct that for a working mom, shortcuts are inevitable! As far as I'm concerned, discoverring a way to bring your best to your family within the constraints of your demanding job and long commute is like finding buried treasure!

Leave a Reply

