Teacher Excellence: Setting Priorities

Uncategorized

Effective leadership is putting first things first. Effective management is discipline, carrying it out.
~Stephen Covey
I read recently that teachers are like tennis players. Hopefully, we all share a unified vision as a school, but ultimately a lot of what we do is individual. Therefore, our main opponent is often ourselves. 
As a leader of my classroom, I must make sure that I put first things first. What is the most important objective today? What will make the most impact today? 
The key is not to prioritize what’s on your schedule, but to schedule your priorities
~Stephen Covey
Today, I will use the trusty Eisenhower/Covey method. So much has to be done in teacher planning that it’s easy to get overwhelmed. This works every time.

Many times, I will use this with just a 3×5 card. I write the tasks that need to be completed on one side, and then fold the card into the four quadrants and write items in the appropriate boxes.

One thought on “Teacher Excellence: Setting Priorities

  1. Good idea! Maybe I'll try it today. It's too easy to spin my wheels moving from one thing to another without completing anything. Thanks!

Leave a comment