It’s Ok To Be The Teacher–Students Need–Not Want

Uncategorized

It’s great to get positive notes from our students. Who doesn’t love to be popular with students? But, it’s ok to be unpopular, too.
Last year I got my share of hate notes. The beginning of my first semester of teaching I began with a poetry unit. A fellow teacher ran to me with various hate notes students turned into to her during that unit. I also found a few scattered around the classroom from time to time. I thought it was a bit funny that most of the notes were written in poetry form. I thought, “Well, hey, at least they’re using what I taught them.”
As a first year teacher, it never felt good to receive such notes, but I also realized that students rebelled because I was pushing them. I wanted them to perform, and work hard.
As I gear up for another year, I want to stay positive, love all my students, and greet them with a smile everyday, while also stretching and pushing their thinking.
I want to bring out their best–and be the teacher my students need–not always the teacher they want.

Leave a comment